Sunday, August 11, 2013

How We Do

More on My Weird Family from last night!

Last night we celebrated my aunt's "17th anniversary of (her) 40th birthday" as we call it, and it was so much fun! There was a videoke set-up at the front of the house, which proved to be a somewhat bad idea because we had a little bit too much fun with it :p (Good thing nobody called the cops on us)

cuteness tootness
It all started really tame. There were tables set up all pretty, some pretty food, and more importantly, we were all sober.

magically, all of the celebrant's siblings came in red! UNPLANNED!
mom leading the prayers as per yoush
my uncle is even reiki-ing the food with magic prayer hands. the works
minicupcakes and yema~
my lovely nieces and trish showing her cute lego creation

I only remember my cousin Biboy taking out the alcohol, then my brother letting me try the scotch, then I made myself a Jack&Coke, then I decided to wind down with some cake and peach tea.. Then somehow I guess the Jack started to kick in as I stared at my third saucer of cake

"Pink... tea.. so.. pretty.."

Then boom. Our collective minds just imploded.


...I don't even remember what they were singing here. But I took videos of my family going wild during Bohemian Rhapsody and Bagsakan.

...Speaking of "bagsakan",


Even when I was tipsy this confused me!

Anyway, I kept thinking about how Beardy would react if he witnessed all of the crazy stuff going down. He'd probably be overwhelmed. It's thinking about stuff like that that makes me realise how strange my family must seem to outsiders XD Beardy said the idea of drinking with your parents in parties is very peculiar to him, and somehow even if I could make that observation myself, I didn't really see it that way before he told me! My family is kinda weird! But that's how we do :)


Things That Made Me Happy Today


OITNB 
this show is so AWESOME

iced morning coffee (not instant :333) 

my cutest lil’ pup 

a great first meal of the day! Lettuce and cucumber with a dash of sesame kewpie dressing, chili porkchops and just a wee bit of rice.. (No photo :3) 

successfully controlling my portions. i still ate like a fully grown adult, a full big girl plate, it’s just that i usually over-eat when the food is that good..Ate more than one slice of cake at the party tonight, though.

the fact that I’m going to wake up on monday to a job (even if it's just training period for now) and it’s making me feel purposeful ..and that it’s early enough in the game to not feel bad about it i guess..but i’m kinda hoping i never feel bad about it! just tired. which is fine.

the privilege of not having to travel big distances to go to work 

the privilege of living at home and having basic necessities and much more 

some cute notebooks!!! 

getting a massage last night and feeling like i kind of deserved it? I mean I fell asleep. That tells you something about how tired you are, right? Plus, I played a Jonsi album during and it turned out to be an AWESOME idea.

Re-visiting pictures taken during Beardy's stay, including this one from my mom's phone.. Who's by the way super cute with how she's now down with the techie stuff cos of her Samsung S4 (SHE HAS INSTAGRAM!! I don't have instagram!)

My Weird Family.
it's my aunt's bday celebration today and some hilarious shit went down with the videoke machine as usual.
this was when it was still kid friendly, before it got crazy. i might post videos, though.

Friday, August 9, 2013

The Funny Frenchman

Hi internet! How is everyone doing? How was everyone's July? I somehow kept thinking it was August 1 for three days straight, which made life really confusing. I greeted Beardy two days in advance for our 33rd monthsary and I woke up today noticing that it's still our monthsary... I was like whaat? I guess time just goes a looooot slower without Beardy around. Because it's not nearly as fun! Three days felt like a whole week, while the two months he spent here with me felt like nothing at all. We did so much stuff, and I honestly had the best time of my life. But of course it ended all too soon!

But I'm not one to sulk. (Hehehe, at least not anymore. I didn't take it well last year when he left!) So I've been cheering myself up by watching a lot of Girl Code, re-playing some Plants vs Zombies, and downloading a bunch of other stuff to entertain me with to pass time in between bouts of job-hunting.

(I just noticed that it's been mentioned more than three times in my timeline that today feels like a friday.. HAS SOMEONE STOPPED TIME FOR EVERYONE AND MADE EVERYONE JUST REPEAT AUGUST 1??? WHAT THE HELL IS HAPPENING lol)
yup my camera still has a problem

And now to cheer myself up further, I'm going to fondly reminisce about the funny shit that came out of Beardy's mouth during our trips.

i dunno, i find this picture hilarious. looks like a panic attack after finding out the zoo is closed (it wasn't, we were just early)

Backstory for first one: When we went to the indoor zoo, we found Jenny the orangutan lounging on her seat without her trainer. We were very eager, but shy and apprehensive about approaching her without supervision. But he slowly, very slowly approached her, making eye contact, and walking very slowly closer.. Until she offered him a finger and they did the ET thing:

yeah he has a way with animals

But then afterwards I got to take a picture beside her with her trainer there:



Me: Mine isn't as organic cos she was told to pose with me. Yours was a natural encounter.
Him: Yeah... A natural encounter... 
Him: With a monkey in a t-shirt.

The zoo was really nice, I would highly recommend it for anyone who's looking for one in Metro Manila!

here's a picture of a lioness breathing some dragonballs. just kidding. it's just reflections of lamps

There was only one thing I found to be not so great about it (aside from some sad-looking animals, but they weren't sad cos they're maltreated, it's just natural for wild animals to be uncomfortable in captivity, even with ample space and food!) ...At least, on the day we were there, they played current radio-circulation music and it just really didn't suit the surroundings.

Me: They should play jungle music instead...  Or African music.
Him: Yeah... Like Phil Collins. 

Beardy: bringer of funsies. whisperer of birdies.

And there was a time where we were sat down watching a movie in my room and he was caressing my shin, and he smiles at me very affectionately, and says:

Him: Even when you're a bit hairy your legs are very soft...

I think it's the non-ironic sincerity of it that made it really hilarious to me.

we regularly had movie nights/afternoons where we'd just make ourselves some iced drinks (with straws!) and popcorn or chips

We were reading the news and there were some awful, unacceptable racist behaviour going down and he was visibly upset by it:

Him: I wish there was a way to turn people black... You can punish neo-nazis by turning them black!

The last one's a bit harder to explain. I'll do most of it after the excerpt, but for now let it be said that we have a thing for puns and point-winking at each other to applaud good ones and that we've been trying to teach each other our mother tongues.

the nice people from Makati Apartelle did this really cute thing and chose somewhat a french theme for our kitchen decor and placemats XD

We were at the place we stayed at in Makati. He was on the bed and I was at the fridge and he said something like..

Him: Pass me the ice please.. Glacons.
Me: Small.. ice? Oh, like, ice cubes?
Him: Small cubs! Get it? Cos small bears ("ours") are oursons

Haha okay, okay I admit that one doesn't really translate well written down but it was adorable when he said it.

I feel like my Beardy is getting funnier and funnier as our relationship gets older. I dunno, maybe it's just our humours kind of adapting to each others'? Whatever it is, I'm loving it! Laughing burns a lot of calories, you know.

PS: I got a job at a call center nearby! It's not exactly related to my field, but it's a good start! I need to learn how to talk to strangers. That's a skill that's universal in its application. Would be nice to be paid to learn something you can really use :) Also, obviously I started writing this at the start of August and it's already the 9th so... Yeah.

Friday, July 19, 2013

hello, blog.


life has been really great lately with him here
i  never get to update my blogs about it cos i’m too busy actually constantly having a life?
like i don’t know how other people do it.  i try to start a new post every now and then, but it just doesn't happen for me. i can't concentrate. i just want to koala-cling to him.
i’ve been to zoos with him, saw a bunch of cute animals, run away with him to stay in the city for a while, went to see a lot of films with him, met with my dearest friends and hung out all together, saw a lot of new places, started to know Metro Manila a lot better, went on a 11-day escape to the beach, took a LOT of pictures…
but somehow the urge to post photos or write about things happening in my life doesn’t really come naturally to me. i feel like just living in my skin is enough, being beside him, laughing with him, holding him, kissing his adorable face… i feel like it’s a lot, that it’s comfortable, that it’s what i want.. but at the same time i fear when this is all over, i might forget a lot of things.. life has been too wonderful, i don’t want to forget even one thing!
but maybe i won’t. i don’t know, let’s see how this pans out. maybe the pictures will be enough to remind me..

my old life will inevitably come like a slap in the face once he goes away again, anyway. i will have ample time to spend on the computer. maybe even to write down stuff about us that are still fresh enough to be recalled, to remind myself in the more distant future. on top of that, it will also be time to find a job. so yeah. i should just go with it and enjoy every second of my life, in its many forms.

Saturday, July 6, 2013

Life (with Beardy) Update

Looking at my counter at the left hand side of my blog shows that beardy has been with me for more than a month now! It's been really really fun! But it's also been really really hard to be present in my blog at all. I tried to update while we were in Puerto Galera but even though we always had wifi it was not strong enough to upload a picture-heavy post.

So! Stuff:

protip: Foodtrip sa Galera has the best affordable waffles!

  • We have seen three movies in the cinema so far: Man of Steel, World War Z, and Despicable Me 2. (3 stars, 5 stars, 5 stars for me personally. 4 stars for Man of Steel if I let Henry Cavill's sexy canine teeth faze me but I'm trying to be professional here)... It's really nice cos it's a thing that we really wanted to do more this time around. Next on the list are Before Midnight and Monsters University.
  • Beardy is done with his tonkatsu phase! In puerto Galera, he ate a truckload of waffles, but he's over that too. Nowadays though, he eats up to 12 slices of white bread with strawberry jam! D:
  • Chikon acted weird when I came back and checked on him... He rarely went out of his shell! I offered some olive oil and was worried when I found him out of his shell one morning because I didn't have an extra shell he can transfer to! D:


..BUT when I took the shell to clean it in case he just found it dirty and uncomfortable, I SAW ANOTHER CRAB INSIDE! ...Turns out he just molted, and the Chikon outside the shell is just skin. Ew.

I left it there and he's been eating it. There's only one leg left now and he's not pink anymore. He gained back his black-white-grey color.

  • Beardy did this cute thing a few days after arriving: I was wondering why he was taking so long in the toilet then I found him writing stuff on my walls with my whiteboard marker:

He was putting french labels on everything XD It was too cute!


So there! I'll try to be better at this blog thing v.soon. I don't know what's happening with my camera though, it's doing this thingy:


I know it's a shutter thing, but other than that, I'm really clueless. Can anyone HALP MEH!?!?!?



Monday, June 17, 2013

Exciting stuffffphhbbtohhtbbthtbbkkkrrkk

Hello internet! Tomorrow morning we'll be on our way to a who-knows-how-long journey to Puerto Galera! I'm super excited and I'll try my best to take a lot of pictures and to regularly update so that our friends and parents and random internet strangers can see what we're up to! So excite so excite I am hyper bye bye

Thursday, June 13, 2013

WHERE'S THE PAUSE BUTTON???

I'm pretty sure it's located somewhere here, in this activity. Writing down or recording daily events however which way; through blogging, writing in a journal, and reflecting on time spent.

I'm being really disturbed lately by how fast time has been flying since Beardy's been around. I feel like the month of May passed by at a very leisurely pace and apparently I erroneously let that reassure me that the months of June and July, during which Beardy is here with me, would be the same. Of course they can't! I bet May only passed by so slowly in my head because I was impatient for him to come back. Now that he's here and making fireworks go off in my general state of being constantly, time is done trickling away and has remembered whatever shortcut it was using to whooze by poor ol' limping me during the time I was trying to graduate from college.

I've been having difficulty organizing photo files to upload because these kinds of details are somehow super hard to organize and mentally grasp when I'm this constantly excited. Even with that being the case I still actually feel like I'm a lot better this time around than last year. Last year felt completely hazy while this time around I can manage to rein the controls of my mind every now and then to zoom and focus into each moment instead of constantly treading a weird mental state of anxiety and restlessness.

Beardy and I have been a lot better at staving off boredom. I don't know why but there's somehow so many things to do. Even when we're stuck at home because of the rain, there's watching Game of Thrones or Bob's Burgers, playing the Lord of the Rings card game, or playing with Sansa and her new rope toy that we bought from one of those everything-66-or-88-pesos japanese stores. (not to mention a lot of time and discussing is still required for us to figure out what Beardy can eat each day! He's still as picky as before, just more confident to be honest about it haha)


Sansa immediately loved him and she can't stay away from him whenever we're in her floor. Surprisingly, he seems to like her a lot, too! Even though she can be a serious restless ball of furry energy.

beardy with his apple green tea and our really bad impulsive chess openings (i lost both times.. even though he likes to say i won the second one. which was officially a draw anyway)

When we do manage to get out of the house, we usually just go to Paseo or the grocery store. On one rainy day we hopped from Ryuma (our favorite japanese restaurant) to Moonleaf to National Bookstore to Chowking!!! Because the rain just wouldn't stop and we couldn't leave the general area. It was enormously tiring but Beardy was hilarious the whole time so it wasn't really so bad. He bought me a Harry Potter coloring book. Keeper.

But on other days we commute a bit farther to other places to meet my best friends, or tag along with my mom and brothers to eat out or just go out and do whatever.

with his watermelon shake which he actually really enjoyed, he just likes to look a hesitant in pictures to tease me

It's been seriously fun. Even the first day, which was actually my mom's birthday celebration. We fetched him at noon and he was really anxious at first to have to see MY WHOLE FAMILY at once right away but it actually went pretty well! We just mostly spent time with my niece Nica who is at that phase where she loves me so much and wants to spend all the time she could with me (I feel the same way about her) hanging out in my room or walking around the village, then we did the same with Sansa, who amused Beardy a lot by being REALLY BAD AT WALKS. That really set up the mood for the rest of the ten days he's been here, and it's been great so far and I'm excited for what's to come but at the same time I'm like SLOWWW DOWNNN WHY IS IT JUNE 12 ALREADY

I'm just really greedy for some Beardy.